First Performance

Standard

Last week I was flown to Lima for a school performance.  To say the truth, it when spectacular!!  This is the first day of my performance when I’m introducing my friend CattyPilly.

Introducing CattyPilly

Here I’m telling my first story to 3rd graders.

Telling my first story

Here's CattyPilly on my shoulder, being silly.

On my first day, everything when smoothly.  I told my first story to two 3rd grades and one 4th grade.  They loved it.  I started at around 9 and finished at around 12:30.  Of course a coffee break was included which was really nice and helpful to get more strength.

Again CattyPilly being silly.

On my second day, I felt more nervous, because I was going to tell the story of “The Wild Swans” to older kids.  It took me around 30 to 40 minutes to actually finish the story but all went well.  The teachers had pre-taught vocabulary so I only had to check a few words and just start off.

Here's CattyPilly after the story.

Since CattyPilly has a real weakness for love stories, she just enjoyed it along with the children, but I had to add a certain detail that I forgot and CattyPilly wanted it to be in the story.

CattyPilly jumping on children's heads.

CattyPilly, when around children, just loves to jump on their heads and apparently the kids don’t mind.  What really made this day interesting was an incident with a friend.  I was in the middle of a story when, a friend who is a bit distracted and doesn’t know about the importance of keeping connection with the audience throughout the story, just step in front of all the children and hugged me so as to say hello.  Although it lasted a few minutes, because she addressed my “audience”, it was enough to cut their attention.  Thank God, with a little creativity, I got them back on track and finished the story with ease.

Here's a nice picture of the setting, perfect for CattyPilly.

On the last day, I had my two 6th grades (no pictures though).  Again I told them “The Wild Swans” and went well – and of course without any distractions.  In a nutshell, everything went absolutely great!  The school was really happy with my work and wants me back for a workshop.

Of course, CattyPilly was a great success!!

I guess that along with the stories, CattyPilly was really popular too.  We make a great team!!

About María Gómez de la Torre

I'm a school teacher and I'm also a storyteller. I enjoy reading new children stories and commenting about them. I specially love dragon tales and stories about fairies. I love people commenting on my thoughts so please feel free to do so - as long as it's positive ;o)

3 responses »

  1. Lo supe desde un principio (Emulando a Chespirito)….SE nota que te diviertes haciendolo, lo cual convierte esta actividad en todo menos trabajo jejejeje…FELICITACIONES…!!! YA SABES LO QUE PIENSO DE TI EN ESTA ACTIVIDAD…

  2. So now you are a puppeteer also! !Que’ bueno! I am a puppeteer/storyteller/ventriloquist! I really like the flower background in the photos! Are these yours? did you make them yourself?
    Lots of success!

Leave a Reply

